Five Leaders Honored With Heinz Awards

(NAPSA)—Five notable American leaders have been selected to receive the prestigious Heinz Awards. The 11th annual awards are among the largest individual achievement prizes in the world, with each winner receiving \$250,000.

Additionally, Richard Goldman, San Francisco philanthropist and chairman of Goldman Insurance Services, received the special Chairman's Medal, occasionally given for lifetime achievement. There is no monetary award associated with the Chairman's Medal.

The awards are named after U.S. Senator John Heinz, who died in 1991. Teresa Heinz established the awards to honor her late husband and to recognize outstanding leaders in areas where he was most active.

This year's recipients in their respective categories are:



di Suvero

• Arts and Humanities: Mark di Suvero, sculptor, artistic visionary and founder of Socrates Sculpture Park, from New York City

• Environment: Jerry Franklin, Ph.D., forest ecologist, educator and the "father of new forestry," from Seattle

• Human Condition: Joseph Rogers, mental health administrator and advocate and founder of Project SHARE, from Philadelphia

• Public Policy: Sidney Drell, Ph.D., theoretical physicist, educator and arms control advisor, from Stanford, Calif.

• Technology, the Economy and Employment: Mildred Dresselhaus, Ph.D., scientist, researcher, educator and trailblazer for women in the sciences, from Cambridge, Mass.

Additional information is available at www.heinzawards.net.