

Writers And Illustrators Of The Future

(NAPSA)—Twenty-four writers and artists from around the globe were recently honored for their achievements at the famed Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, in the very room the first Academy Awards ceremony was held.

The annual event celebrated the winners in the L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests, which observed their 25th anniversary this year.

Over 400 fans, including Sophia Milos ("CSI: Miami"), Dion Graham ("Law & Order" and "The Wire"), Kevin Sorbo ("Hercules: The Legendary Journeys" and "Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda"), and John Francis Daley (Fox TV's "Bones") were on hand.

Winners received trophies and cash prizes. The Gold Award to the author of the Story of the Year was presented to Emery Huang of Orlando, Fla., for his story "Garden of Tian Zi." The Gold Award for the Illustrator of the Year was presented to Oleksandra Barysheva, a native of Ukraine, now residing in New Jersey.

Prior to the awards ceremony, the winners were flown in from as far away as England to attend a weeklong workshop taught by contest judges—including New York Times best-selling authors Kevin J. Anderson ("Dune" series), Sean Williams ("The Resurrected Man") and internationally acclaimed artist Stephen Hickman, each one



Writers and illustrators from around the globe were honored with trophies and cash prizes at a recent annual awards ceremony.

an experienced professional in the field—providing sound advice based on hard-won experience.

The intensive mentoring process has proven to be very successful. Past winners of the Writing and Illustrating Contests have gone on to publish over 550 novels, 3,000 short stories and more than 3 million illustrations. L. Ron Hubbard initiated the contest in 1983, shortly after he returned to the field of science fiction with his best seller "Battlefield Earth."

For more information, go to www.writersofthefuture.com.